Six Weeks Clean

Mt Hope Reservoir

So, six weeks later and I’m still eating clean.  I’m very pleased with myself!  I can’t say that I follow the plan perfectly, but I follow it well enough that most junk food doesn’t appeal to me–and when I do crave something junky, I either don’t have it in the house or am able to resist the temptation.  I know all too well how that downhill slide can begin with just one small bag of peanut M&M’s!

It has been easy to follow this plan with the abundance of fresh fruits and vegetables that are available in the summer, but it’s going to be a bigger challenge come fall.  The local grocery stores don’t have the best selections of fruits and vegetables.  Even in the summer, most of them are not local–I try to eat local whenever I can–and are not great quality.  Take, for example, a mango I bought last week.  I wanted to serve it at breakfast yesterday and found that one end was bruised and rotten and the other, unripe and as hard as a rock.  $2, straight in the trash can.

Hiking Trail

The grocery store with the best produce is 30 min from my house and much more expensive, but I’m going to do my best to shop there.  I’d also like to join the local farmers co-op that will deliver to your house if you order comes to at least $35.  Their prices are expensive, but the food is good quality and locally produced.  Can’t ask for better than that!

I’ve also been making weekly visits to the local Amish store, which has locally grown dairy products and meats.  The meat is horrendously expensive however.  I can swing a pound of stew beef or a few burgers, but a roast or whole chicken is out of the question at this point in time.   Ironic that it costs more to eat healthy in this country.

I’m not a zealot about only eating clean.  I make the best choices that are available when I’m eating out but I don’t obsess about it or refuse to eat foods that aren’t on the plan, I just eat less of them.  I’ve had pizza twice in the past week, but limited myself to two pieces each time.

There have been a few disasters.  I made whole wheat couscous for dinner last night.  It was extremely dry and I thought I’d just left it on the burner for a bit too long.  Everyone soldiered up and ate it at dinner, but there was a lot left over.  This morning it occurred to me to take another look at the directions–and realized I’d put only half the liquid required in!  Oops.  I added more this morning and it was much better.   Not quite as tasty as the packaged mixes that come with spices and all kinds of extra ingredients I can’t pronounce, but I could get used to it.

I feel better.   I haven’t experienced the great burst of energy I was hoping for, but I feel good.  I’ve lost weight–still don’t know how much, but my clothes are fitting better.  I’m down a size in underwear and shirts and my pants are much looser.  It’s been fun to go through the clothes I have packed away and see what fits again or will fit again soon if I keep this up.

Checking out the water

The next step is to get more exercise.  I’ve been negligent in that area.  The kids and I and the dog all went for a hike on Labor Day  but other than that, I haven’t been walking and I need to–the weather has cooled off nicely and there is no excuse not be taking advantage of it.   I have been trying to use arm weights when I’m watching television.  Losing weight at 54 is not like losing weight at 25–skin doesn’t snap back like it used to!  I’m noticing a droop over my elbows and my neck–well, the poultry we eat at Thanksgiving comes to mind!

At least I’m still with the plan.

About karenft

I am 56, divorced mother of three, librarian by profession. I am an avid reader and chocoholic, like photography, writing, gardening, board games, cooking and walking. I enjoy all kinds of outdoor activities--bicycling, hiking, swimming, canoeing, kayaking--but never seem to have the time for participating these days. Soon, I hope.
This entry was posted in Diet and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

