Resolutions

This time of year talk always turns to the topic of New Year’s Resolutions. I joke every year that my resolution is not to make any resolutions.  I feel that making them is akin to setting myself up to fail. Setting goals may work for some people, but for me, it usually has the opposite effect and I find myself sabotaging my own best efforts.

Instead, I prefer to look at the New Year as a time for fresh beginnings, a chance to put old, bad habits behind me and start working on new ones.

I realize there are flaws with this logic. Whether I call it a resolution or a fresh start, I seem to focus on the same areas every year–eating healthier, getting more fit, getting on top of finances.  And since the same areas are at the top of my list every year, must be my no-resolution approach isn’t working out very well.

This year, I’m going to try a slightly different approach. I’m going to try to focus on some of my creative needs and hope that the other things fall into place by default.  Number one on the list is spending more time outside, walking, hiking, biking. I always feel more relaxed and at peace in nature but I don’t do enough of it.

Nature will fit in with Number 2–maintaining a daily photo blog inspired by Project 365:  http://365project.org/  (Thanks to my good friend Laura for telling me about this.) I’ll be doing in on my new tumbler account: http://www.tumblr.com/blog/karenseye.

Third is spending more time writing, whether it be blogs, fanfiction, fiction, live journal or just doodling.

At least I won’t be making any New Year’s Resolutions.

About karenft

I am 56, divorced mother of three, librarian by profession. I am an avid reader and chocoholic, like photography, writing, gardening, board games, cooking and walking. I enjoy all kinds of outdoor activities--bicycling, hiking, swimming, canoeing, kayaking--but never seem to have the time for participating these days. Soon, I hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

